Fylde people, clubs and organisations that go above and beyond to keep the community active were honoured at a dazzling ceremony on Saturday 30th September. 

The sell-out Fylde Active Community Awards, which were held at Ribby Hall, were hosted by Fylde Council’s Sports Development Team. 

Champions from the 11 categories included representatives from across the sporting spectrum including, running, martial arts, equitation, bowling and gymnastics. 

AFC Fylde Community Foundation and Fylde Rugby Community Foundation sponsored the awards and marketing agency ICG was creative partner.  

Cllr Karen Buckley, Leader of Fylde Council, said: “Fylde has a fantastic community of sporting superstars and every year we get together to celebrate and applaud them. As usual the atmosphere was fantastic and everyone came ready to party!  

“While we do have to choose a winner for each category, I would like to congratulate everyone that was nominated as together they all make a huge difference to the lives of people here in Fylde. 

“We are also fortunate to have lots of supportive organisations that sponsor and promote the awards.  

“The awards ceremony gets bigger and better each year and we’re already looking forward to 2024!”  

The awards ceremony took place at Ribby Hall on September 30th with Fylde Council’s Tourism & Cultural Manager Tim Dixon as compere.  

The winners of the Fylde Sports Awards go on to represent their district at the Lancashire Sports Awards. 


Winners of the Fylde Sports Awards 2023 

Contribution to Active Communities – Individual 

Howard Robinson – Together We Can Do  

Contribution to Active Communities – Group 

Fairhaven Bowling Club  

Secondary School of the Year 

Lytham St Annes High School 

Primary School of the Year 

Ribby With Wrea Endowed CE Primary School 

Young Achiever of the Year 

Holly Cross – Across the Boards Theatre School  

Volunteer of the Year 

Sylvia Lancaster – Freckleton and Warton Running Club 

Active Workplace of the Year 

Clifton Homecare 

Health and Wellbeing Award 

Ella Grace – Streetwise 

Coach of the Year 

Bob and Dianne Russell – Lytham Tae Kwon Do 

Club of the Year 

Across The Boards Theatre School 

Lifetime Achievement 

Christine Pollitt – Wrea Green Equitation Centre 


Keep up to date with the latest Fylde Council news by following us on social media or subscribing to our newsletter. Any new information will be posted directly through these channels, so if you are following us, you’ll be the first to know.